Thankful Thursday

Another post prompted by the SITS girls! Today is my favorite of the week though.

Day Four : Ten Things You Are Thankful For

I like to think that I am a pretty blessed chickadee. I mean, I don’t have a million in the bank or a house/car that the Kardashians would be envious of. But I DO have an incredible family and amazing friends. I have an endless amount of love in my life, and even though its not coming from a hottie like Jason Aldean or ‘Kelly Severide’…I consider that love a win, in my book. With that being said, I have always been raised to be thankful for what I have. So this should be pretty easy.

Today and everyday, I am thankful for:

~one~
Being Part of a BIG, crazy family
Growing up, I always had someone to play with. That’s a guarantee when you have umpteen cousins running around. My mom had 6 siblings and I think they thought long and hard about the best time to have babies. All of us cousins were spread out pretty evenly. There was always a friend to play with, someone to babysit you…or someone for you to babysit, we rarely had to take the bus to school because one of us was old enough to drive. It was fun then. But now that we are getting older, it seems to mean so much more to have someone there to relate to, cry to and laugh with. When I got engaged, my cousin Nicole was one of the first people I called since then we stood up at eachother’s weddings, and talk all the time. When I found out about the DBE, my cousin Pat was the first person I wanted to talk to. He had been there, he knew what I was feeling, and what I needed to do next; even though I didn’t want to. When I realized that I was really getting a divorce, I had a handful of cousins waiting to hug me and wipe my tears, they were the same ones that I hesitated on telling, because I knew that they would kill Greg when they found out.  That’s what family is for, right?

~two~
Living in a State with Seasons
Sure…I always complain when there is too much snow, or the humidity is outrageous. And I whine when summer is taking too long to get here or sticking around too long in September. At the end of the day though, I love the changing of the seasons and don’t think I could get by without them. A girl gets bored too easy.  🙂

~three~
Becoming a Dog Mommy
In 2007, I became a dog-mommy for the first time when I got the DBE a pup for Christmas. He always wanted a black lab that he could name Duke. Once the potty training and carpet eating was over, it was SOO much fun being a dog-mom and I wouldn’t trade it for the world. When we lost Duke in Feb 2009, I thought the world was over. And then Minnie arrived that summer and everything changed. Duke was absolutely, a man’s dog. Minnie was this little, squishy sweet girls puppy! There are many days and nights now, where I sit back and realize that Minnie got me through some serious bad days. I love that little Goober and I can’t imagine my life without her!

~four~
Stuff and Things
I like to think that I am not superficial. But, seriously there are some ‘things’ I just couldn’t do without. My Cell phone, flip flops, my straightener, the DVR, my Kindle, McDonald’s Coke, and my Pampered Chef Small Scooper.  🙂

~five~
Having One (and only one) Sister
I say that because I don’t know that either of us, or my parents could have existed this long if there were more than two of us. We had the cliché 5 year difference sister relationship growing up… You know the one, where you despise each other 97% of the time and the other 3% is when your sister is at a friends house. But mostly, I say this, because now that we are 25 and 30…I don’t think I would want to share this ‘sister bond’ with anyone else. I love that she lives so close, I love that we spend so much time together and I love that I have been blessed with not only a sister but a best friend!

~six~
My newfound independence
Years ago, I would have thought that I was pretty independent and confident in doing things on my own. Now that I am where I am, I realize that I had no idea what I was thinking. It was a tough road getting here, and while I still have sad and bad lonely times… I am thrilled know that I can and will do it on my own. I enjoy a little me time and I enjoy being able to make my own plans, my own decisions and make my own little place in this world.

~seven~
GrownUp Friendships
I always used to wonder what it would be like to have adult friends…how the friendships would be different than those we had in high school. I am thankful that I have a handful of amazing people in my life to show me just how great grownup friendships truly are.

~eight~
My Amazing Role Models
I truly believe that you are a direct representation of the people who raised you. I thank my lucky stars every day that I was given the most incredible parents and role models known to man. They are two of the kindest, caring and appreciative souls that I know. They truly would give the shirt off their back to anyone in need without thinking twice. They are now, and have always been so in love and truly to find eachother to be the other’s best friend. They have paved the way for my sister and myself in so many ways. I am incredibly thankful that I have them to look up to when it comes to life, love and everything in between.

~nine~
12 years of being ‘one of the boys’
I used to joke that when I started dating the DBE, I also started dating his best 4 friends, Matt, Brock, Justin and Noah. We literally did everything with them. “Dates” consisted of dinner for 6, movies (which were rare) were all of us. Most nights we sat up and played cards until 4am. Looking back, it never bothered me. Now, I know that the reason it didn’t, is because I was forging a life long friendship with ‘the boys.’ I couldn’t be more thankful that through everything with the divorce, I never lost the boys. I was absolutely terrified that when the chips fell, they would be ‘loyal’ to their lifelong guy friend. Just makes sense, right? Turns out they are ‘loyal’ to friendship, rather than the fact that he’s a guy. At the end of the day, the reason they are no long friends with him is their deal. I just know that I would NOT be where I am if it weren’t for those boys! Unfortunately, Noah has moved to FL and we don’t get to see him often. And sadly, Justin hangs out with us from Heaven. But I talk to Matt daily and see Brock very often. These are truly some of the most important people in my life.

~ten~
The Blogworld
I love being able to scream and holler and rant without anyone knowing how incredibly loud I am being. I am blessed that I have a little corner of this blog world to call my own and I cant wait to make it just a little bigger.  🙂

What are you thankful for?!

Leave a Reply

