Holy BaJesus…Liebster Award

I had a long, super eventful and crazy fun weekend. One that started on Friday morning instead of the normal Friday afternoon!  🙂   It had nothing to do with the internet and everything to do with amazing good times leading up to, and warranting a 7pm Sunday bedtime. People, I didn’t even watch Big Brother before crawling into bed. (thank goodness, b/c I don’t think it started until 9pm!!) I mean, I wouldn’t have eaten dinner, had my sister and someday brother-in-law not shown up to grill their own food at my house! (Im housing their grill for another week or so until they move into their house!!)

Anyhoo, after 11 blissful hours of sleep, I am still pretty exhausted and was dreading an 8 hour work day, the first of many where I am the only person in the Marketing Dept…wuh wuh wuh. But, to my extreme AMAZEMENT, I turned on the puter this morning to find that Katie nominated me for a Liebster Award on Friday!! WOAH! First, a shout out to my nominator….lemme just apologize for not replying until this morning! Sorry!! I wasn’t ignoring this awesome honor, my weekend just got away from me!

liebsteraward_3lilapples

With that in mind, I really had no idea what the Liebster award was, but I took German, so I knew that it meant that she loves me! 🙂 She really loves me! haha  And, that I have to come up with 11 facts about myself. Eeks…that could be tough…so lets get on with it!  🙂

{{the liebster award is given to bloggers with less than 200 followers in order to get them more noticed and give them recognition! you have to say 11 things about yourself, then answer 11 questions from the person who nominated you gave, then nominate 11 more people and give them 11 more questions to pass along!}}

1 – I love Country Music. Always have, Always will. Even when people make fun of it, I will stand behind the cowboy boot, dog loving, drunken, sad, twangy, sometimes sappy, hillbilly songs to the day I die. I go to country concerts in plaid and jeans with my boots in tow. I like ALL country though, from Johnny Cash to George Strait, Garth Brooks to Kenny, Faith Hill and Sara Evans to Carrie Underwood and Miranda Lambert Brooks & Dunn to Florida Georgia Line. And not to forget my husbandS…Jason, Brantley, Luke and Tim.

2 – If I had to give up cable and keep only one station, it would be Lifetime. I truly could turn it on in the morning and watch it all day long! I live for Lifetime Movies, especially on a rainy or snowy day. My bestie and I have been known to spend our entire Friday/Saturday night bundled up on the couch watching Lifetime movies…mind you, this is after a 2.5 hour drive to see her. At the same time though, I love Dance Moms and Army Wives (RIP) as well as the Grey’s reruns!

3 – I have had a blog before this one SimmplySweet, but ditched it after I ditched my married name, Simms!  LoL

4 – I’ve literally worked since I was 14. Two years for the village where I grew up..sweeping streets, to manual labor-tearing out sidewalks, laying concrete and roofing! I was a manager at McDonalds for 2.5 years, worked in a factory for about 6 months, Front Desk at a State Park Hotel for 3ish years, Sales for 10 months, a Dr’s Office until I got called to Jury Duty for 3 months, Dispatch for Dish Network for a bit, then numerous positions at a National Auto Parts company for 3 years until I got laid off…4 years ago, Wednesday. I cried that day, A LOT! I have been in Marketing at my current company for 4 years this month!

5 – Numbers Game – I started dating the DBE shortly after I turned 18, we were engaged 2.5 years later, married 5 days after I turned 21 and separated exactly 2 months before our 8th Wedding Anniversary

6 – I’m addicted to chap stick! I have TONS in my purse, on my dresser, in my desk, and in my car.

7 – I have a home baking business. Sweet Deeda’s Mostly Cakepops, Cakes and Cupcakes! It started with a playful attempt at making Cakepops a few years ago! Now I have 1-2 orders a week!  🙂

8 – I met my ex-husband through one of my best friends…at the time, she introduced him like this “this is my boyfriend Greg, he’s from Canada.”  When they say, “bros before hoes,”  even girls should listen! Shortly after they broke up, he and I started “talking.” Things were okay with her and I for a while, but then got rough for a bit, she didn’t attend our wedding 😦  Looking back, even though the marriage is over, I would have loved to reconcile with her sooner so that she could have been there for me. If its the only wedding I get, I wish she had been there. We are much, much closer now!  Her (GASP) almost 7 year old is my GodSon and I love him to pieces!

9 – I never really dated in High School (when I was in HS, the cool thing was to be ‘talking’ rather than dating.) I think only 2 guys ever got past the ‘talking’ stage and I only went to 2 dances. Ironically, one of the guys that made it past “talking” and that I went to one of the 2 dances with, was Sir. Wonder what will happen now that we are 30?

10 – I traveled 2.5 hours (one way) to downtown Chicago for THREE months in 2006 for Federal Jury Duty. 5 hours a day I spent traveling back and forth, about 6 hours a day were spent in a courtroom…like, legit Law & Order style courtroom..listening to witnesses, recordings, and lawyers talk about a federal racketeering case involving Hamas. It was terrifying for this small town girl! The first few nights were sleepless, after that, I was so mentally drained, I could sleep anywhere. The first day that I reported to the courthouse was Sept 27th, I filled out a 32 page questionnaire! My last day there was January 18th, when I was released as an alternate! I was furious! It left such an impression on me that 7+ years later I still remember the dates, but I didn’t even get to vote on guilt!

11 – I have only one sibling, a sister. I truly believe that neither one of us would have survived if there were more than just us two. 15 years ago, we hated, I mean hated eachother. I was 15 and she was 10. She was the bane of my existence…she wanted to play with my friends (ps, you don’t PLAY with friends at 15 years old!) She thought my guy friends were ‘cute’ and wanted to wear my clothes and do her hair like mine. It was the worst!!  Fast Forward 15 years, we are pretty much inseparable. I bought a house with my ex in 2010, she graduated college the following year and moved into the same town (Pop. 500)..sound familiar?? I LOVED it! I moved out of ‘our’ house last summer and when looking for my own place, I looked to the same town so that I could be close to her, that way we can ‘get ready together’ when there is somewhere to go! She truly is my best friend and I wouldn’t change it for the WORLD!

Now, its time for Katie’s Questions:

//what is your favorite movie, and why?
I have a few…hands down, absolute Fave though, would have to be Dirty Dancing! I just love everything about it! Patrick Swayze is divine, Jennifer Gray is awesome, and who doesn’t want to fall in love over Summer Break with the older, badboy hottie?!

//if you could pick one thing to do for the rest of your life, what would it be?
Baking, for sure.

//describe your best friend.
I have a handful of best friends (thank the good Lord!!) so a few words to describe each.. 
My baby sister, Lindsey – loyal, true blue, beautiful, my rock and inspiring.
High School Bestie, Katy – with me thru thick and thin, the one I look up to, and look to for advice, so real and genuine.
College Bestie, Amanda – trusting, shoulder to cry one, listener, and sweet.
Adult Bestie, Paige – strong, independent, honest, and admirable.
The Boys, Matt, Brock, and Justin – these are the guys that have gotten me through everything! The loss of family members and a doggie, fights with friends, changing jobs, moving (way too many times,) our loss of Justin, and finally the end of my marriage. Matt stayed up with me nights on end when I was trying to figure out my place in the world as a single person. Brock literally played with my hair for HOURS when I hit the ’emotional’ stage of drinking one night. I love them more than words.
 
//comfort or style?
Comfort for sure! If it were up to me, it would be comfy pants/shorts/capris ALL the time!  🙂
 
//if we were to go out drinking together (in a bar just hanging out), what do you think we would drink and talk about?
Sweet, Girly Drinks for sure and we MUST talk about Friends!
 
//have you ever done anything illegal? don’t be confessing your murders or anything like that to me, but like if you stole your mom’s car before or smoked weed. something like that.
I definitely wrecked my car once (single car, dumb accident)…hit a tree (or a few) and shortly after a truly concerned elderly lady came running out with her phone in hand calling the ambulance and checking on us, I sped away quickly b/c I was 18 and had our NYE alcohol stash in the trunk. Thankfully the car just had a few branch scratches on the back, so I was able to hide it from my parents (or so I thought) until I traded it in the following March. Come to find out YEARS later, when you start coming clean about these things, my dad noticed and just never mentioned it.
 
//what’s your favorite song? why? does it bring back a special memory or do you just love the beat?
Summer of ’69 by Bryan Adams. Do you remember those stamp clubs, where you picked out books, or cd’s or movies and put their stamps on a postcard and sent them in with $$? My grandma was a die hard stamp club member! LOL She had quite the collection of books and cd’s. Well the first CD she ever gifted me with was Bryan Adams and I instantly fell in love with Summer of ’69.  Love it to this day and always think about her. I don’t share my love either, I belt the words to ever verse no matter where I am, and my family KNOWS that I love it. Its my ringtone on my dad’s phone! haha  
 
//if you could swap genders with the opposite sex for one day, what would you do?
Interesting Question! I really don’t know…I mean, these days guys can pretty much do anything that girls can, right? Maybe, pee outside! LoL  I am a bathroom snob, I don’t pee ANYWHERE but a bathroom, and one that is very well known to me, so doing it outside would be way outta my comfort zone. Other than that…maybe go and buy tampons. See if I can figure out why its such a big deal for a guy to NOT be able to buy them for his girl. LOL
 
//would you rather use sandpaper for toilet paper or hot sauce for eyedrops? yes, i love the would you rather game.
Eek, both sound awful!  Probably sand paper. I guess, you can flip it over and just do your best with the flat side, right?
 
//what decade do you really think that you should have been raised in? explanations are necessary.
Hmm..I think I love being raised in the 80’s-90’s. I think I got the best of both decades. I remember the fun tv shows, and definitely the music. I don’t think I could have been a flapper, or a hippy…so it works for me!  🙂
 
//am i the only person that actually really likes nickelback, or do you too?
I don’t think I like or dislike them (though they are Canadian, so that’s a point against them.) But I wouldn’t change the radio if “Someday” or “How You Remind Me” comes on.  🙂
 
I get to ask the questions now!  Woo Woo  Here are 11 more questions for my nominees!
**Whats your favorite TV Show?  Tell me about which character you most relate to!
**If you could have dinner with 3 deceased people, who would it be and why?
**Whats the last thing you do at night?
**Do you have any pets??
**I love Big Brother, especially the Evictions. If you could nominate one celebrity for “Eviction” from popularity, who would it be, and why?
**Who is your Favorite Singer? Song?
**If a celebrity were to play you in a Lifetime movie, who would you want it to be?
**What’s your real life job?
**What is the best gift that you have given? Why did you choose to give that specifically?
**Where is your favorite place to visit?
**What is your favorite phone app, and why?
 
My Awesome Nominees
Krystle @ The Kay Times
Now…just comment and let me know, if you decide to participate, so that everyone can check out your posts!  I hope to connect with all of you soon!
 
8 thoughts on “Holy BaJesus…Liebster Award

  1. Thank you!!! So glad you and your best friend made up now! I love your answers. What is your email addy? I responded to your comment on my blog then realized you wouldnt get it because you are no-reply. Send me your addy so I can send your response 🙂

  2. Anytime, Sweetie! You’re right, I really do love you! 🙂 I love your post! We sound so similar, that I’m pretty sure if we lived near each other we would hang out all the time, and be best friends!I SO remember those stamp clubs! I swear we sound so much alike- Drinks, Friends, Country Music, and Lifetime!! Yay! P.S. Matt, Brock, and Justin sound- AWESOME! Glad you enjoyed this!

    • Too Fun! And I would have to agree that we would certainly be besties! 🙂 Grandmas Stamp clubs were the best! She had a very eclectic collection, that’s for sure!!
      The boys truly do mean the world to me. I have no idea what I would do without them. I miss Justin like crazy that’s for sure. Is it bad that my biggest fear with the divorce was that I would lose Matt and Brock?? LoL

Leave a Reply

